banner banner banner banner banner banner banner banner banner banner
KBEST Country Chaos with Adrienne & Mark in the Morning KBEST Country Chaos with Adrienne & Mark in the Morning
6:00am - 9:00am
K-BEST in the Morning

Make An E-Quest

Contact Me

My Blog

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Contact Us Today for Advertising Opportunities Both Web and On-Air!
Welcome to !
Request a Song Online or by Calling 263-KBST (5278)
KBest Media is Locally Owned and Operated!
When There's Smoke on the Mountain or Clouds in the Air, K-Best News Is There!

During last night’s Big Spring Area Community Foundation Awards Gala, the local nonprofit organization awarded over $404,000 in grants, agency funds, and scholarships.


“Every year we’re able to bring the recipients for the scholarships, grants, and agencies together and present them with their funds for the year," said Greg Henry, BSACF Executive Director, of the gala. 


"It’s just an opportunity to come together, acknowledge them and the impact they’re making in the community whether it’s a grant proposal, the kids that are in school, or the agencies - the Big Spring Symphony, the Heritage Museum, the Air Museum. You know, it’s just one of those deals that they affect the quality of life around here and it’s so much better because of them."


During the event, it was announced that the late Jerry Worthy, a BSACF board member who passed away in February 2021, had donated $100,000 to the Big Spring Area Community Foundation. 


The BSACF awarded 16 grants totaling $360,026, plus, $44,500 were awarded in scholarships to 23 students from Big Spring, Coahoma, Forsan high schools, and Borden County ISD, Glasscock County ISD, and Sands CISD - an increase of $20,000 from last year. The total amount distributed in grants and scholarships was $404,526.


2021 Scholarship Recipients are as follows:


Big Spring High School

Kymbry Ford

Brianna Lopez

Samuel Sotelo

Brandon Rogers

Joshua Hines


Coahoma High School

Noah Dials

Cailey Glover

Grayson Glidewell

Brenner Gartman


Forsan High School

Clayton Tucker

Destiny Hallford

Sara Tarbet

Patrick Bailey 

Cameron Allen

Taryn Spivey


Borden County ISD

Michael Brady


Glasscock County ISD

Jose Chavez

Matthew Espinoza


Sands CISD

Me-A Gonzalez



Agency Funds awarded provide ongoing support to the nonprofit on an annual basis. Those receiving funding last night as follow:

Big Spring Symphony - $2.096.34

Hangar 25 Air Museum - $5,147.96

Heritage Museum of Big Spring - $4,321.69

YMCA of Big Spring - $84,459.90


Permanent / Restricted funds were awarded to:

St. Mary's Episcopal Church - $20,813.43

Cantebury Retirement Home - $4,000.86


Grant Recipients are as follows:

Amphitheater Improvement Board - $50,000

Big Spring Main Street - $7,586

Big Spring Symphony Association - $15,000

Crossroads Housing Development Corporation - $25,000

Cross Roads Young Marines - $4,000

Food 2 Kids - $5,000

Heritage Museum of Big Spring - $10,000

Howard County Volunteer Fire Department - $30,000

Howard College - $20,000

North Side Movement - $22,500

Southwest College for the Deaf (SWCD) - $10,000


Before the end of the evening, Henry also announced that BSACF would provide a matching grant to the United Way of Big Spring and Howard County of up to $33,000 for new donors and for donors who increase the amount of their donation.


Since 2001, the Big Spring Area Community Foundation has been helping individuals and families create personal, permanent, and powerful legacies with charitable funds customized to meet their philanthropic goals.


If anyone is interested in starting a fund for their favorite charity, or scholarship fund, or adding to an existing fund they are encouraged to contact Greg Henry at 432-714-4316. For more information on the Big Spring Area Community Foundation, you can also visit: 


(Photo: Scholarship recipients present at the Big Spring Area Community Foundation Awards Gala on June 2, 2021.)

Hide Comments



LinkedUpRadio Envisionwise Web Services