banner banner banner banner banner banner banner banner banner banner
Kris Moore Kris Moore
3:00pm - 6:00pm
Texas Country Afternoons

Make An E-Quest

Contact Me

My Blog

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Contact Us Today for Advertising Opportunities Both Web and On-Air!
Welcome to !
Request a Song Online or by Calling 263-KBST (5278)
KBest Media is Locally Owned and Operated!
When There's Smoke on the Mountain or Clouds in the Air, K-Best News Is There!

The SouthWest Collegiate Institute for the Deaf (SWCID) held their annual awards convocation on Tuesday, April 9th and took time out to recognize student achievement.


Each year, two students (a male and a female) are recognized for the American Legion citizenship award. The recipients can be a freshman or a sophomore and are selected based upon votes of the faculty and staff. The students must exhibit outstanding leadership, character, and citizenship qualities. The 2018-2019 SWCID American Legion Citizenship Awards were presented to Oluwatobi (Tobi) Lisoyi and Destinique Rahming.


The Presidential Award for Outstanding Student of the Year is the most prestigious award given on each campus at Howard College. This award is based on academic excellence, participation in all facets of student life, leadership in extra-curricular activities, and college spirit. The recipient must be enrolled full-time and should be a visible and active leader on campus. The 2081-2019 Presidential Award for the SWCID campus was presented to Pio Fidel Aquino.


Pio came to SWCID from El Paso, Tx to major in the dental lab technology program. He is very active on campus, participating in all activities and sports while in attendance at SWCID. He is very respectful of his fellow students, faculty, and staff and has shown great ambition to continually learn more about his program and advance his skills.


Pio will graduate from SWCID in May 2019 with a certificate in dental laboratory technology and plans to return to El Paso pursuing a career in the field of dental lab technology.


A complete list of student awards is below.


Full Name  -  Award 
Aaron Richards  -  Outstanding Construction Trades Student

Alexander Jones  -  Dean's List Fall 2018

Alexis Nandin  -  LEADS Completer

Alfredo Salazar  -  Honors List Fall 2018

Ashley Coffey  -  Outstanding Visual Communication Technology Student, Outstanding BSM Student, Presidents List Fall 2018

Bayleigh Rollo  -  Most Improved ITP Student, LEADS Completer

Chris Almanzar  -  Dean's List Fall 2018, LEADS Completer

Cinthia Orozco Cortes   - Honors List Fall 2018

Destinique Rahming  -  Outstanding Biology Student, Honors List Spring 2018, American Legion Award, SGA Secretary 2018-2019

Edward Arzy  -  Outstanding ENGL 2333 World Literature II Student

Egardo Abarca Gutierrez  -  Outstanding Visual Communication Technology Student, Honors List Fall 2018

Emily Campos  -  Dean's List Fall 2018, Honors List Spring 2018

Fidel Aquino  -  Honors List Fall 2018, Presidential Award

Jayvon Lockhart  -  Honors List Fall 2018

Joe Segura  -  Honors List Spring 2018, Honors List Fall 2018

Johnny Saenz  -  LEADS Completer

Jonathan Withrow  -  Outstanding Business Specialization in Accounting Student

Jonython Mason  -  Outstanding ENGL 0316 Reading/Writing Student

Jose Garcia  -  LEADS Completer

Kanyinsade Fatunda  -  Outstanding BSM Student

Lorenzo Gonzalez   -  SGA Vice-President Fall 2018

Luis Zuniga-landa  -  Outstanding ENGL 1301 English Composition and AS in Computer Science Student

Maricruz Arriola  -  Honors List Spring 2018, Honors List Fall 2018

Marlin Jones  -  Outstanding Office Technology Student


McKenna Stewart  -  Outstanding ITP Student,  Presidents List Fall 2018


Miguel Varela  - Outstanding Business Specialization in Business Support Services Student


Miriam Hernandez  -  Outstanding ITP Student, Dean's List Fall 2018


Noelle Lamasanguiano  -  Honors List Fall 2018


Olayinka Dada  -  Outstanding College Algebra Student, Honors List Spring 2018, Honors List Fall 2018, 


Oliva Brooks  -  SWCID Diplomat, SGA parliamentarian Spring 2019


Olivia Gutierrrez  -  LEADS Completer


Oluwatobi Lisoyi  -  Honors List Fall 2018,  American Legion Award, SGA President 2018-2019


Roland Blanco  -  Outstanding Beginning Algebra Student


Samantha Padilla  -  Outstanding ENGL 1302 English Composition II Student, SGA Treasurer-Fall 2018, SGA Vice President/Treasurer Spring 2019, LEADS Completer


Shawna Rasmussen  -  Outstanding HIST 1302 American History II Student


Tiffany Sellers  -  Dean's List Spring 2018


Yasmin Garcia  -  Outstanding Pre-Algebra Student, Honors List Fall 2018, LEADS


Zhirtien Warmack  -  Honors List Fall 2018



(Contributed) Photo: Presidential Award Winner Pio Aquino with Dr. Cheryl T. Sparks, President


Hide Comments



LinkedUpRadio Envisionwise Web Services